Daguan Park, located in the southwestern
suburb of Kunming City, is a picturesque lakeside park. In the
35th year of Emperor Kangxi (1696), Wang Jiwen, governor of Yunnan,
carried out a largescale construction of a two-storyed pavilion.
Ponds were dug, embankment was constructed, and trees and flowers
were planted. With a good view of the waters and hills in the
distance, and the sailing boats and trees in mist, the pavilion
was titled Daguan(Grand View) pavilion. In the later years, the
Daguan pavilion had twice been reduced to ruins by warfare and
flood. In the 9th year of Emperor Guangxu (1883), Chen Yuying,
governor of Yunnan and Guizhou Provinces, ordered Monk Xingtian
to take charge of the renovation of the pavilion, and the pavilion
has remained intact ever since.
Since the Daguan pavilion was built, men
of letters coming from far and near have often gathered here,
composing and reciting poems. During the past two to three hundred
years, many excellent works and poems have been created. Among
them, the Long Couplet written by Sun Rangweng has for many years
enjoyed the highest reputation around the world. Daguan Park has
become famous due to Sun Rangweng's Long Couplet.
China Great Travel
offer tailor made packaged private Yunnan & Kunming
tours to Daguan
Park, if you are interested in visiting it, please contact us.
Kunming Travel Attractions
Spring City Golf